395999_10151091034897603_1036918903_n

George Duke’s Wife Succumbs To Cancer

Image

Photo of Corine and George Duke from the 2010 Capital Jazz SuperCruise.

Rest in peace, Corine, longtime wife of funk/jazz fusion pianist George Duke. She died this week due to complications with cancer. Shine on, Mrs. Duke!

“And though I want to stay close
I realize the most we’ll ever be is good friends
I got kids at home 
I can’t leave them alone
This I’m telling you
I’ve got another life
Cause I still love my wife”

— lyrical excerpt of “No Rhyme, No Reason” George Duke

10 thoughts on “George Duke’s Wife Succumbs To Cancer

  1. I have learned more from George Duke than any other keyboardist. I had the good fortune of meeting him last year and I also lost my own mother to cancer just a year ago this month. Hang in there, George! Thank you for the many years of great music!

  2. It is August, 2012, and I am just finding out about this. I am deeply sorry to hear about your loss, Mr. Duke. I offer my condolences. I am a fellow musician, who absolutely loves your music. I know you loved her very much. My prayers go out to you and your family. May the Alnighty comfort you.

Leave a Reply

